This cracks me up because it is totally how I used to sew when I was a kid. Animated GIF

Movies Silently

alias-jimmy-valentine-robert-warwick-1915-silent-movie-kid-sewing

I loved to sew when I was a kid. No sheet or tablecloth was safe! I was sure to snip it up and turn it into a costume for myself or my dolls. My mother was shockingly tolerant of this behavior. It could not have been easy to have a constant costume surplus and sheet shortage. (I still do a bit of costume sewing on the side, though I have not made anything in a while.) We were also indulged in our love of grasshoppers, lizards, fossils, trains, dinosaurs, books and DuckTales.

When you’re a kid, threading a needle can be a challenge. To avoid the dreaded chore, I would load the needle with as much thread as possible. Longer than my arm sometimes. Ah, those were the days!

(The GIF is from Alias Jimmy Valentine)

View original post

Leave a Reply

